Skip to main content

Mid-Florida Research & Education Center

Mid-Florida Research & Education Center

MREC Staff

Mid-Florida Research and Education Center staff consists of strong leaders focused on lifestyle horticulture research, improved facilities, expanded research programs and stakeholder input and support. Our dedicated team of professionals work alongside faculty to improve Florida landscapes, nurseries, agricultural operations and beyond.

No Photo on File

Kelly Ager

Biological Scientist, Dr. Hopkins

kelly.wall@ufl.edu

407-410-6937

Sandra Alomar

Sandra Alomar

Operations Manager

salomar@ufl.edu 

407-814-6102

Kristin Calcanis

Human Resources

libbyk@ufl.edu 

407-814-6103

Annette Chandler

Biological Scientist, Dr. Marble

annc@ufl.edu 

407-410-6965

Donald Cox

Farm Management

donaldo@ufl.edu 

407-884-2034

Matthew Creech

Biological Scientist, Dr. Huo

mcreech@ufl.edu 

407-410-6920

No Photo on File

Samantha Daniel

Biological Scientist I

daniel.s@ufl.edu 

407-410-6936

No Photo on File

Maricela Gonzalez

Custodial

maricelag@ufl.edu 

407-884-2034

Chris Halliday

Farm Supervisor

cshallid@ufl.edu 

407-884-2034

Irma Herrera

Agricultural Assistant, Dr. Osborne

iherrera@ufl.edu 

407-814-6162

No Photo on File

Pamela Hicks

Receptionist

pamhicks@ufl.edu 

407-410-6923

Katherine Houben

Biological Scientist, Dr. Osborne

kshouben@ufl.edu 

407-814-6162

Robert Leckel

Information Technology

rleckel@ufl.edu 

407-814-6176

No Photo on File

Sean McNair

Student Worker

s.mcnair@ufl.edu 

407-410-6960

Terri Mellich

Biological Scientist, Dr. Chen

tmellich@ufl.edu 

407-410-6173

Tory Moore

IFAS Public Relations Specialist

torymoore@ufl.edu 

352-273-3566

Carmen Nazario

Administrative Support

cnazario@ufl.edu 

407-410-6929

407-814-6167

Heidi Savage

Biological Scientist, Dr. Beeson

hsavage@ufl.edu 

407-814-6170

John Smothers

IFAS Facilities

johnsmothers@ufl.edu 

407-341-4096

No Photo on File

Maribel Trejo

Custodial Partner

mtrejo@ufl.edu 

407-884-2034

No Photo on File

Caroline Warwick

Science Communication Specialist

caroline.warwick@ufl.edu 

407-814-6174

Jeanne Yuen

Biological Scientist, Dr. Norman

jmyu@ufl.edu 

407-410-6949

Mengzi Zhang

Biological Scientist, Dr. Pearson

zhangmengzi@ufl.edu 

407-410-6931